Overtime Claims

California Overtime LawsCA Overtime Pay Laws: Know Your Rights!

Overtime pay is one of the foundations of the American workplace. Employees expect to be compensated for their overtime; our laws are designed to prevent California employers from taking advantage of their workers by providing regulations against the following:

-Unpaid Overtime-Unpaid Meals and Breaks
-Working Off the Clock-Unpaid Wages or On Call Pay
-Unpaid Mandatory Training-Unpaid Commissions
-Exempt Status Misclassification

Overtime Pay Can Add Up Fast! But you must act quickly!

Consider this: If you worked 4 hours of overtime, 5 days per week for the 3 years,

your claim could pay an estimated $208,883 from your employer.*

*This example includes interest and penalties, and provides no warranty or prediction as to the outcome of your case.

Laws for California Overtime

CA Minimum Wage Law: January 1, 2014 California minimum wage rose to $9 per hour

Time and a Half Requirements: California employers must pay one and a half times your normal hourly rate when you work more than eight consecutive hours. Federal law requires overtime at 40 hours a week.

Double Time Requirements: After you work 12 hours in any 24 hour period, California employees are entitled to two times their normal hourly rate.

Seventh Day Rules: Any California worker who works for seven consecutive days must be paid time and a half for the entire shift, increasing to double time after 8 hours.

“Off the Clock” Rules: JUST DON”T! California laws clearly protect the employee from this abuse. You cannot have “off the clock” duties as part of your job. I.e. finishing “closing duties,” changing into or out of your uniform or complete any requirements of your position when you are clocked out.

Standby and On-Call Pay: This may be one of the most overlooked rules. Any employee who is on-call and under the control of the employer you must be paid. In other words, if you are on standby and can’t go about your normal activity, either by leaving a certain area or having an alcoholic beverage etc., you must be paid for that shift.

There are many intricacies to these laws and we have spent years learning the ins and outs. Call us today and we can help you determine if and what you are owed.

PAY NOTHING Until They Do!

Your Free and confidential consultation is waiting.

* These fields are required.

Fresno Super Lawyer 2015

fresno super lawyer

MORE EMPLOYMENT HELP

CALCULATE HOW MUCH OVERTIME YOU ARE OWED! CLICK HERE.
* In California you are entitled to overtime when you work more than 8 hours a day, the FLSA under Federal law mandates OT pay over 40 hrs worked in a week.

-DIRTY BOSS TRICKS.
-INFAMOUS HARASSMENT

Are alternative work weeks legal? CLICK HERE.

HOT OFF THE PRESSES!

Translate »