California law requires companies to offer employees a minimum amount of sick leave. Officially, sick leave in California came into effect on July 1, 2015. There are several factors you should take into consideration as an employer so that you are sure to act within the law.
The law requires employers to take record of the accrued hours of the employees for the sake of compensation. Not all employees qualify for sick leave in California. It is necessary for you to go through the sick leave laws so that you can know what you are expected to do as an employer. If an employee takes a sick leave within his or her allotted time, the law requires the employer to pay the employee.
The sick leave is applicable to all California workers who work for more than a month in a year. Even part-time employees and temporal staff who work more than a month (30 days) in a year are eligible. There are some exceptions too.
Determining Sick Leave for an Employee?
There are different ways you can determine the sick leave you can give to an employee. For example, you can accrue sick leave depending on hours or offer the workers a lump sum at the start of the year. For the accrued period system, you are required to offer employees one hour of sick leave each 30 hours they work.
If you decide to go for a lump sum method, then you should offer the employee three days each year. Services such as square payroll help in determining the amount of time you can allow your employees.
How to Report Sick Leave
The sick leave should be shown to employees in a document each pay day or on a pay stub. Square payroll is an effective tool you can use to automatically calculate the sick leave balance for your employees.
How to Pay Out Sick Leave?
The sick leave should be paid at the regular hourly rate of an employee. If the employee stops working in your company, you can stop paying for the sick leave balance as well.
What Happens if an Employee Does Not Take Sick Leave?
Employees are allowed to accrue untaken sick leave up to 48 hours in a year. If you offer your employees at least 24 hours of sick leave at the start of the year, then you are not required to rollover the remaining hours.